Reviews for Columbus, OH Ophthalmologist Richard A Erdey, MD

Browse Patient Reviews

At East Columbus Surgery Center, delivering top-notch surgical care and clinical excellence is more than just our job — it's our passion and honor. Our dedicated team works tirelessly to ensure that every patient visiting our facility has a comfortable, safe experience, coupled with the best possible treatment outcomes. We recognize the significance of choosing the right surgeon for your eye health needs. That's why we're eager to share patient feedback from those who've entrusted their care to us, offering you a clearer perspective on what to expect. We invite you to review recent testimonials from patients treated at our Columbus, OH office as you explore your surgical options.

Filter61 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from A.C.  |  Source: Google  |  May 12, 2024

I was referred to Dr. Richard Erdey for corneal surgery. I had RK in 1994 that basically shredded my corneas. I was at a point that my vision was uncorrectable via glasses or contacts. Dr. Erdey performed a DALK procedure (Deep anterior lamellar keratoplasty (DALK), a surgical procedure for removing the corneal stroma down to Descemet's membrane). My experience was excellent. The Dr. and staff were wonderful. Dr. Erdey is caring and thorough. He calls and texts me to see how I'm getting along. He went as far as looking up flights for me as I was wintering in FL at the time of my 2nd transplant surgery and arranged for another leading surgeon in Ft. Myers, FL to do a follow up so I didn't have to fly back to Columbus, OH. The surgeon in FL was very impressed by Dr. Erdeys skills as was my referring Dr. and optometrist. My vision has been restored and I will have 20/20 bilaterally once my cataracts are removed in another year or so. His office is very busy but they are very friendly. They are working as fast as they can to meet your needs in a timely manner but often times you are waiting 30 min to an hour to get seen by the Dr. but you are seen by at least 2 other staff members running vision tests and such so that when he gets in the room he's full on your case and focused on you. By the time you leave it's been 2 hrs but I'm not complaining and I feel that's reasonable. I have nothing but great things to say about Dr. Erdey and his office staff. They take time to explain everything and when you go in for your surgery the nurses are wonderful and caring. I highly recommend him. Don't put off taking care of your vision. If you've been told there's nothing else they can do to correct your vision get another opinion and go see Dr. Erdey. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.E.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 26, 2024

3 Years ago I met Dr. Erdey when I was having difficulty seeing driving at night. Dr. Erdey explained to me how previous Radial Keratotomy scarring was causing my blurred and starburst night vision. He recommended a DALK procedure which is a partial corneal transplant. Needless to say I was hesitant. However, Dr. Erdey took the time to explain to me in detail the procedure and the expected time it would take. I decided to trust The Erdey Searcy Eye Group, and I am happy to say I am glad I did. The first procedure had me second guessing my decision as my vision was cloudy following the replacement. Dr. Erdey assured me it was normal and to give it time. As the healing process progressed my vision still was not improving. This was directly related to the shape of my eye which again Dr.Erdey explained was normal and would be corrected through contacts, glasses or possibly cataract surgery....which can be accelerated because of the DALK procedure. Once the sutures were removed, and the cornea continued healing, it was clearly evident the scarring Dr. Erdey referred to from the previous RK was corrected. It was now time to wait for the cornea to fully heal and allow for a cataract surgery to address sight degradation. As I waited we entered a prescription for glasses to help with my sight. It was not optimal, however I chose to pursue and wow, what a difference....I could see again....clearly. This gave me the resolve to have the second eye transplant....but we needed to correct the cataract first. Once this was complete I was amazed to realize I had been seeing the world in distorted colors in addition to the scarring.....I found a shirt I thought was green was actually blue and wondered how people must have thought I had no ability to match what I was wearing......that small downside was worth the upside of being able to see in a whole new way. I was excited for the next surgery, but had to wait........Once fully healed Dr.Erdey performed the second DALK on my right eye. One note.....the amazing steadiness of Dr. Erdey's hands are amazing. The sutures he put into my eye were exquisite, but they can be painful. Things were going smoothly until I got a virus. I experienced partial rejection while on a business trip. The swelling in my eye caused a tear out of the sutures, and the pain was pretty tough. Dr. Erdey took my call ( at night) and saw me the next morning when I returned. He immediately put me on the proper drops and "beat back" the rejection. This is one of the benefits of DALK.....far less rejection of the doner tissue. This set us back a few months, however we got back on track. Finally the sutures were removed, and I was looking at my next cataract surgery. Fortunately as time has passed Light Adjustable Lenses became available and I decided to have that technology placed into my right eye. This surgery was performed two days ago and so far so good. We have several light treatments to go, however I am excited for the prospects of the final vision as my vision now is quite good without dialing in the UV adjustments.....will update again as we progress. I'll end this by saying Dr. Erdey and his staff are expert caregivers. They know how to diagnose and explain the proper treatment....and they can address setbacks in the most professional manner. I've gotten to know Dr.Erdey over these years and truly am glad to have gotten to know him both professionally and personally.....could not give a higher recommendation and want to thank him for giving me the best sight of my life....and it is only going to get better with the adjustments. Truly remarkable as I've worn glasses for more than 50 years and now can say I know what good eye sight really means. Don't think twice about trusting your eyesight with the Erdey Searcy Eye Group Team! Truly appreciate your skill Dr. Erdey! Rich E More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.T.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 12, 2024

Fantastic practice. Dr Erdy and his team are the best. Compassionate, friendly, efficient, highly skilled. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 13, 2024

These people are phenomenal. The staff was wonderful. I only had to wait 10 minutes. They give you a series of test. Then, write you a prescription, and you're out the door. To bad they don't take children under 18 More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 13, 2024

I am so thankful for Dr Erdey for performing my cataract surgery. Having had horrible vision most of my life Dr Erdey was able to remove the cataracts and improve my vision beyond belief. His team from beginning to end was kind , helpful, answered all my questions and scheduled me right away for surgery. I jokingly said to one of the nurses, ‘ spa day’ as she put a warm blanket on me prior to surgery. Many thanks and blessings to Dr Erdey and team! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 13, 2024

Everything was great during my visit from check in to check out. They have a great process and the doctor was thorough and answered all my questions. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 13, 2023

Great group of docs! And a special shout out to Kim! She is amazing!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.L.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 13, 2023

If you want to see a doctor that listens to your concerns, reacts accordingly- and whose staff welcomes you - then you found your next eye doctor. I cannot say enough - they truly went above and beyond to ensure my eye health is at its best! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.T.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 13, 2023

I want to say how incredibly thankful to that 23 yrs ago I made the choice of traveling from Verona, Italy to Columbus, Ohio to have my corrective eye surgery by Richard Erdey MD. He has an internationally recognized reputation'. I went to many local doctors before making this important decison but they did not give me the same confidence. After the surgery I immediately was able to completely eliminate my dependence on glasses and contact lenses which I previously had required my entire lifel Not a day goes by that I don't think of his talent and kindness when I look at the world which remains in perfect focus to this day! Thank you again Dr Erdey for all you do! God bless you! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 13, 2023

Excellent overall experience. Dr Erdey and his staff were awesome from the start to the finish for taking care of my cataract issue while also correcting my astigmatism. I would recommend them 100% and Dr Erdey worked his magic to allow me a life without glasses based on designing and installing the toric lenses to perfection. Thanks to Dr Erdey and all his staff. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from L.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 13, 2023

The doctor and staff were great. My only complaint is the building! It is easily the most handicap unfriendly building!!! Doorways barely fit a wheelchair!! Taking my mother to the restroom was an experience I don’t wish to repeat! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from V.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 13, 2023

Wow! I can now see my clock near my nightstand, thanks to Dr. Richard Erdey and his amazing staff. In June of this year(2023), I had cataract surgery with the LAL lenses. The Light Adjustable Lens are fantastic. I have worn contacts or glasses for over 60 years. I can now see 20/20 with the LAL lenses.I can also see smaller print. Dr. Erdey is an exceptional doctor, always giving you his best options for your eyesight. I also want to thank Dr. Phil Arner and Dr. Phillip Janson for all their efforts to help me achieve the best results in my eyesight. They work very closely with Dr. Erdey. From Kylea in his office, to all the receptionists who are always friendly when setting up your appointments, thanks you for your efforts. Carol and all the surgical staff in the East Columbus Surgery center where the cataract surgery is preformed, do a fantastic job of keeping you informed and comfortable for your upcoming surgery. To everyone at the Erdey Searcy Eye Group, thank you for a great experience. Thank you Dr. Richard Erdey for giving me back my vision to see clearly. Vicki W. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 13, 2023

My experience was amazing. Dr. Erdey is my hero. Talked to me about lens implants as I'm not a candidate for Lasik. I went for it. One eye each week and I swear it's magic. I am seeing better now than I ever did with glasses. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from V.W.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Aug 17, 2023

Do you want to clearly? See Dr. Richard Erdey and - Wow! I can now see my clock near my nightstand, thanks to Dr, Richard Erdey and his amazing staff.In June of this year (2023), I had cataract surgery with LAL lenses. The Light Adjustable Lens are fantastic. I have worn contacts or glasses for over 60 years. I can now see 20/20 with the LAL lenses. I can also see smaller print. Dr. Erdey is an excellent doctor, giving you his best options for your eyesight. I also want to thank Dr. Phil Ardner and Dr. Patrick Janson for all their efforts to help me achieve the best results in my eyesight.They work very closely with Dr. Erdey. From Kylea in his office, to all the receptionists in the front office, who are always friendly when setting up your appointments, thank you for your efforts. Carol and all the surgical staff in the East Columbus Surgery Center where the cataract surgery is preformed, do a fantastic job of keeping you informed and comfortable for your upcoming surgery. Thank you Dr. Erdey for giving me clear vision again. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 13, 2023

Dr Erdey restored my eyesight! I am grateful to him! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 13, 2023

Thorough and accurate More

5.0
DAPI
Review from V.P.  |  Source: Google  |  May 13, 2023

I moved to TX fifteen years ago but continued returning to Ohio for my annual eye exams. I was diagnosed with Acute Angle Closure Glaucoma during one of those visits. I asked my Dr. whom he would take his family, should they receive the same diagnosis, and he recommended Dr. Richard Erdey. Dr. Erdey was able to perform my surgery right away, and he did an excellent job! In March of this year (2023) I had to have surgery on both eyes to remove cataracts, replace both lenses, as well as have AK procedure on one. There was no question of whom I would see, I had proven results with Dr. Erdey before, and he is the one I trusted with my eyes once more. After recovering from all surgeries, I can now see 20/20, something I haven’t been able to do since first grade! I have read the reviews of Dr. Erdey and feel that people have neglected to comment on Dr. Erdey’s desire to provide his patients with the BEST results possible. Dr. Erdey is a perfectionist and wants the BEST for his patients. Remember, you’re there to have the BEST in the business correct your eyes, not for their bedside manners or to make friends. I want to also give a shout-out to the best front-staff and nursing staff I have ever met! A special thanks to Cathy, Carol, Liza, Kristen, Jessi, and a few more that made my experience a pleasant one. Thanks again to the Erdey Searcy Eye Group! Sincerely, Vickie Peter More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.W.  |  Source: Google  |  May 13, 2023

I have been a patient here for 20 years. The staff is very professional and personable. They are very patient with senior citizens. I feel comfortable with them. The eye testing and imaging is very thorough, to ensure the most accurate diagnosis. I had cataract surgery 20 years ago, with Dr. ERDEY, and I still see great! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Apr 19, 2023

Excellent - In March of this year (2023) I had to have surgery on both eyes to remove cataracts, replace both lenses, as well as have AK procedure on one. There was no question of whom I would see, I had proven results with Dr. Erdy before, and he is the one I trusted with my eyes once more. After recovering from all surgeries, I can now see 20/20, something I haven’t been able to do since first grade! I have read the reviews of Dr. Erdy and feel that people have neglected to comment on Dr. Erdy’s desire to provide his patients with the BEST results possible. Dr. Erdy is a perfectionist and wants the BEST for his patients. Remember, you’re there to have the BEST in the business correct your eyes, not for their bedside manners or to make friends.I want to also give a shout-out to the best front-staff and nursing staff I have ever met! A special thanks to Cathy, Carol, Liza, Kristen, Jessi, and a few more that made my experience a pleasant one. Thanks again to the Erdy Searcy Eye Group!Vickie More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.T.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 13, 2023

Great experience! I saw Dr. Erdey for a consultation on ICLs (Implantable Collamer Lenses). I have keratoconus so I’m not a candidate for LASIK. We decided that ICLs were a good fit for me and he performed the procedure a few weeks later. After 32 years of wearing glasses/contact lenses, I no longer need them. It has been life changing for me. The staff was great and so was Doc Erdey. I got the personalized attention that I needed and the procedure went well. Very satisfied! :-). More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.E.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 13, 2023

My eyesight has been terrible for 57 years. I tried Radial Keratotomy in the early 90's and it helped, however left me with poor night vision in addition to scarring which obstructed my sight. I visited with Dr. Erdey early in 2021 for help and he immediately recognized my issue and suggested a DALK procedure. (deep anterior lamellar keratoplasty) Dr. Erdey clearly explained the procedure, it's benefit, steps and length of recovery this would take allowing me to understand this huge decision. Considering his succinct explanation I decided to undergo the procedure on my left in May of 2021. The exact results and issues Dr. Erdey indicated were experienced on the road to recovery. I will admit it was a concerning journey. Last week I underwent a cataract surgery to put the finishing touches on my new sight and I could not be more pleased with the results. Less than 1 week following the cataract surgery I am already at 20/40, with crisp vision where there use to be starring, especially at night and with oncoming vehicles. I can again read road signs easily and the removal of the cataract allows me to see colors properly. The day after the cataract surgery was when I decided to pursue DALK in my right eye....and now I know what to expect. My anxiety is replaced with excitement and I hope if you are reading this you will not let the fear of the unknown stop you from trusting Dr. Erdey to help improve your vision. He confidently said he could help me....he definitely did. Thank you Dr. Erdey. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 13, 2023

The staff in this office is always polite and efficient. Dr Erdey is very thorough. and efficient with all his staff and myself. Thank you all. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.P.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 13, 2023

Been a patient since 2004. Dr Erdey has done both my lasik and cataract surgeries. I live in Virginia and still come to Ohio once a year because I trust this man and his crew with my eyes. Their appointments are very thorough. Worth the drive in my opinion. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 13, 2023

I have had many visits to this office due to my eye condition. Staff is friendly, professional and really take time to hear your concerns. Would highly recommend Dr. Erdey to anyone that wants the best for their eye care needs. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.V.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 13, 2023

recently had dr.searcy perform cataract surgery and a keratectomy on both eyes. could not be more pleased with the results. the dropless surgery is amazing. no glasses needed, which is a pleasant surprise. everyone was pleasant and helpful at every step. highly recommend this group. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.V.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 13, 2023

Dr Searcy has been my Dr for many years! I have total confidence in Dr Searcy and the staff here. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 13, 2023

Dr. Erdey Saved my sight! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.G.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 13, 2023

10 years ago my cataracts had developed to the stage that they needed to be removed. I was very nearsighted my whole life, and I opted to have the lens in both eyes replaced. During the lens replacement, Dr. Erdey was able to correct my vision to the degree that I do not need corrective glasses or contacts. The practice is extremely professional and performed numerous tests prior to the surgery to ensure that all aspects of the lens replacement would be considered and addressed. The office is very busy and your appointment may take a little longer (they are very thorough), but I think that the extra time spent is invaluable and worth it for the health of my eyes. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 13, 2023

I've been seeing Dr. Erdey for 6 years now, for glaucoma and also cataract surgery. I am very impressed with this practice and with Dr. Erdey. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from P.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 13, 2023

Great doctors. Helped my cataracts and pressure..the only thing be prepared to wait 2-3 hours for each appointment. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from S.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 13, 2023

Have been a patient of Dr. Searcy for several years now. The average normal waiting time sitting in the waiting room is about 15 minutes. However, today people were waiting 45 to 60 minutes. One of the doctors came out to apologize and said they were short staffed. Once called in, the process moves along fairly quickly. Yet, at the same time, you aren't rushed. Everyone there provides you quality time to discuss any concerns and to answer any questions. Everyone there is quite friendly. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.A.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Feb 05, 2023

Excellent Eye Care - Dr. Erdey has been providing my eye care, for glaucoma and for cataracts, for the past 5 years. He performed the cataract surgery on both of my eyes, and he's kept my glaucoma from progressing. He is very thorough and professional, and I trust with with the care of my eyes. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.B.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jan 07, 2023

Exceptional experience! - My experience with the Erdey Searcy Eye Group for cataract surgery was exceptional. Everyone, from the receptionists to the technicians, to the nurses and Richard Erdey, my surgeon, were helpful, efficient, patient with my questions and professional.I had worn glasses for over 55 years with my eyesight worsening. I was told to expect 20/20 vision (for distance), but most amazing is how bright and clear my vision became.The surgery took approximately 20 minutes and was only uncomfortable, not painful. The recovery period was a matter of days and I tested 20/20 vision within a week.I highly recommend Dr. Erdey for anyone with vision issues, particularly cataract surgery. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Sep 10, 2022

Excellent eye care - 10 years ago my cataracts had developed to the stage that they needed to be removed. I was very nearsighted my whole life, and I opted to have the lens in both eyes replaced. During the lens replacement, Dr. Erdey was able to correct my vision to the degree that I do not need corrective glasses or contacts. The practice is extremely professional and performed numerous tests prior to the surgery to ensure that all aspects of the lens replacement would be considered and addressed. The office is very busy and your appointment may take a little longer (they are very thorough), but I think that the extra time spent is invaluable and worth it for the health of my eyes. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jul 25, 2022

DALK Procedure results - My eyesight has been terrible for 57 years. I tried Radial Keratotomy in the early 90's and it helped, however left me with poor night vision in addition to scarring which obstructed my sight. I visited with Dr. Erdey early in 2021 for help and he immediately recognized my issue and suggested a DALK procedure. (deep anterior lamellar keratoplasty)Dr. Erdey clearly explained the procedure, it's benefit, steps and length of recovery this would take allowing me to understand this huge decision. Considering his succinct explanation I decided to undergo the procedure on my left in May of 2021. The exact results and issues Dr. Erdey indicated were experienced on the road to recovery. I will admit it was a concerning journey. Last week I underwent a cataract surgery to put the finishing touches on my new sight and I could not be more pleased with the results. Less than 1 week following the cataract surgery I am already at 20/40, with crisp vision where there use to be starring, e More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 13, 2022

I have been a patient of Dr. Erdey's for 5+ years. During that time I have had double cornea transplant, double cataract surgery and a yag laser. Any time I have had concerns, I call the office and they don't hesitate to get me right in. I always enjoy my visit with Dr. Erdey, we chat about various vacation spots. Just to show that he too is not only a top rate ophthalmologist but a wonderful person to get to know. My vision was very poor in both eyes. As a matter of fact, my optometrist was going to take my drivers license away. Since the above mentioned procedures, I am seeing 20/20 in both eyes. Kindly, Jeffery A. Moore, Tsgt Ret. USAF More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 13, 2022

I had surgery to correct my vision and was seeing better than 20/20 the day after surgery. After wearing glasses and contacts my whole life it was amazing to be able to see so well. Dr. Erdey knows his trade and I would recommend him to anyone looking into corrective vision surgery. He works fast and his staff is spectacular More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.M.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Aug 01, 2021

I have been a patient of Dr. Erdey's for 5+ years. During that time I have had double cornea transplant, double cataract surgery and a yag laser. Any time I have had concerns, I call the office and they don't hesitate to get me right in. I always enjoy my visit with Dr. Erdey, we chat about various vacation spots. Just to show that he too is not only a top rate ophthalmologist but a wonderful person to get to know. My vision was very poor in both eyes. As a matter of fact, my optometrist was going to take my drivers license away. Since the above mentioned procedures, I am seeing 20/20 in both eyes. Kindly,Jeffery A. Moore, Tsgt Ret. USAF More

5.0
DAPI
Review from W.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  May 27, 2021

I had surgery to correct my vision and was seeing better than 20/20 the day after surgery. After wearing glasses and contacts my whole life it was amazing to be able to see so well.Dr. Erdey knows his trade and I would recommend him to anyone looking into corrective vision surgery. He works fast and his staff is spectacular More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 13, 2021

I am 76 years old and have been a patient of Dr. Richard Erdey since 2015. In 2015 Dr. Erdey performed cataract surgeries on both of my eyes, necessary follow-up laser surgeries also on both of my eyes and since 2015 Dr. Erdey has treated me with comprehensive annual eye examinations through December 2020. Prior to my cataract surgeries my vision was terrible and I was nervous and worried about having the eye surgeries. However, almost immediately after entering Dr. Erdey's office and interacting with his staff I was impressed by each and every staff member by their competence, thoroughness and professional courtesy. I can emphatically state that these staff qualities stem from the top as Dr. Erdey performed my eye surgeries with exceptional professional skill and competence. My vision is now terrific and this is because of Dr. Erdey's extraordinary professional competence. I am so grateful to him. Dr. Erdey and his staff have also continued to treat me with professional excellence in my annual eye examinations. Although Dr. Erdey has a lot of patients he takes the time to answer any question or concern a patient may have. Dr. Erdey is also , frankly, a" nice guy" and has always treated me respectfully and with consistent professional courtesy. As a retired attorney I really value and admire true professionalism. Dr. Erdey and his great staff have consistently provided this to me since 2015. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.D.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 13, 2021

Dr. Erdey is the best eye surgeon that I know! He is competent, professional, and caring. I met with Dr. Erdey and during my eye examination it was determined that I needed corneal surgery and later a cataract removed. I was very nervous about having these surgeries done, but at the end of my consultation with Dr. Erdey I knew I had made the right decision to allow him to proceed with the surgeries. In addition, his entire staff was welcoming and supportive. He performed both surgeries and I regained my vision significantly. My vision is important and I needed a competent and reliable surgeon, and that was Dr. Erdey. I highly recommend Erdey Searcy Eye group to anyone seeking exceptional eye care. JDevlin Gahanna, Ohio More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.R.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 09, 2021

Doc is the man to see if you need cornea transplant!! I had both corneas done DALK surgeries and vision is much better now. Clean facility, courteous staff and you don’t have to wait long at all at your visits. Thanks Richard for never giving up and still helping my vision improve!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jan 18, 2021

Dr. Erdey is the best eye surgeon that I know! He is competent, professional, and caring. I met with Dr. Erdey and during my eye examination it was determined that I needed corneal surgery and later a cataract removed. I was very nervous about having these surgeries done, but at the end of my consultation with Dr. Erdey I knew I had made the right decision to allow him to proceed with the surgeries. In addition, his entire staff was welcoming and supportive. He performed both surgeries and I regained my vision significantly. My vision is important and I needed a competent and reliable surgeon, and that was Dr. Erdey. I highly recommend Erdey Searcy Eye group to anyone seeking exceptional eye care. JDevlin Gahanna, Ohio More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Dec 20, 2020

I am 76 years old and in 2015,prior to being treated by Dr.Erdey my vision was terrible. In 2015 Dr. Erdey performed cataract surgeries on both of my eyes, necessary laser surgeries also on both of my eyes and since 2015 Dr. Erdey has treated me with comprehensive annual eye examinations through December 2020.Dr. Erdey performed my surgeries with exceptional professional skill and competence. My vision is now terrific and this is because of Dr. Erdey's extraordinary professional competence. He really improved the quality of my life and I am so grateful to him. Dr. Erdey has a lot of patients but takes the time to answer any question or concern a patient may have. Dr. Erdey is also , frankly, a nice guy and has always treated me respectfully and with consistent courtesy.As a retired attorney I really value and admire true professionalism. Dr. Erdey and his great staff have consistently provided this to me since 2015. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.B.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Apr 29, 2020

I have had several visits to the Erdey Searchy Eye Group. The office, restrooms and examining rooms are immaculate. There are controls in place to address the impact of the corona virus. The staff is caring and well informed. Dr. Kasiwinkle treats patients as partners and provides information about treatment plans and prescriptions in a thoughtful and respectful manner. I would recommend this practice to anyone. The nurse manager is quick to return phone calls and ensures that prescriptions and refills are timely and accurate. Because of my immune disorders , I see three other medical practices. I always have to follow up with prescriptions and refills, but never at Erdey Searchy Eye Group. It is helpful to know that the nurse there keeps up with medicines and referrals and I do not have to. I just wish their practice treated more areas than eyes! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 13, 2020

Dr Richard Erdey has a very impressive international reputation. Knowing this, I traveled from Verona, Italy to his Columbus, Ohio office. He performed this rapid and painless miracle 19yrs ago when he did LASIK in both my very nearsighted eyes. I see perfectly ever since without glasses and cry whenever I think about how he helped me and how well I still see today! Many people in my area have since consulted with him and are all very happy. There are no words in English to fully express how thrilled I still am. I cannot thank Dr Erdey enough! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 13, 2020

I can see clearly, thanks to him! Dr. Erdey is an expert eye doctor. He performed implantable contact lens procedures on me and my parents. It's been life-changing to finally not have to mess with glasses or contacts. The procedure was one of the best decisions I've made. Now, I have yearly appointments at his office and haven't had any problems with my implantable contact lenses. I'd recommend Dr. Erdey's office to anyone looking for an ophthalmologist who is top of his field. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 13, 2020

My initial visit with all the testing wasn’t too bad. A lot of shuffling around and waiting in between got annoying. Every time I come into this place I sit and wait over an hour for my scheduled appointment. Every time. And don’t think that the employees at the check in area won’t get rude when you question why you are waiting so long. The response of “this is a doctor’s office” implies we are expected to wait and not complain about it? Then everything test-wise happens on the second floor with no elevator. Not to mention the building and interior furnishings look like they are straight from the 80’s. Perhaps this review is so negative because 45 minutes ago I was told there was only one person in front of me... again. Because again here I sit an hour and 15 minutes after my appointment time still waiting. If I didn’t already have so many expensive copays invested in this place, I would never come back. So spare yourself. Some doctors do actually care about the patients wait time. Thank you Eye Group for now giving me 1.5 hours to sit and do a review. Update: 1 hr and 45 minutes later I was at the reception area again to tell them I couldn’t wait any longer for my pre surgery test and my name was called. Dr Kaz did his best to rush me out of there and I was apologized to by four different staff members and they did get me processed in about 15 minutes and finally on my way. Made me feel a little better but still would not recommend this place. UPDATE: I immediately received a call from Dr Searcy. Apologized and went out of his way to make up for what happened today. I am so appreciative of him taking the time to make things right. I have changed my rating from one star, because some doctors do care about customer service and patient wait time. Thank you for making it right Dr Searcy. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.D.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 13, 2020

I just had my first visit with the Staff at Erdey Searcy Eye Group, met Dr. Kaswinkel, and each and every person in each area of testing, and believe me, they do an extremely thorough check of your eye in order to make an accurate assessment of treatment necessary, were so kind, professional, and made me feel completely secure and comfortable and I feel I can trust them to remove my cataracts. They are efficient at taking care of the people under their care. I will give an update as my surgical procedues are accomplished. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 13, 2020

There is nothing more precious to me than eyesight. I made sure I had the best doctor for my cataract surgery. He recommended a procedure I didn’t realize I needed and I was absolutely thrilled with the results. Dr. Erdey and his team are professional and schooled in the latest science has to offer. If you are looking for the best, trust your eyes to Dr. Erdey. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jul 04, 2019

There is nothing more precious to me than eyesight. I made sure I had the best doctor for my cataract surgery. He recommended a procedure I didn’t realize I needed and I was absolutely thrilled with the results. Dr. Erdey and his team are professional and schooled in the latest science has to offer. If you are looking for the best, trust your eyes to Dr. Erdey. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.G.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 18, 2019

I can see clearly, thanks to him! Dr. Erdey is an expert eye doctor. He performed implantable contact lens procedures on me and my parents. It's been life-changing to finally not have to mess with glasses or contacts. The procedure was one of the best decisions I've made. Now, I have yearly appointments at his office and haven't had any problems with my implantable contact lenses. I'd recommend Dr. Erdey's office to anyone looking for an ophthalmologist who is top of his field. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.F.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 06, 2019

We take so much for granted u til we face life altering changes. Although aware my eyesight was failing due to cataracts and an inherited disease of the cornea, the thought of the lose of one’s vision makes you focus on those things that are truly important. Every day I thank God that while on my life journey, I crossed the path of Dr. Richard Erdey of the Erdey, Searcy Eye Clinic in Columbus, OH. The procedures were performed to his meticulous satisfaction with results that far exceeded my expectations. Words can not adequately describe my gratitude and thanks to him and his excellent staff! Heartfelt thanks must also be extended to the Central Ohio Eye Bank, who partner with his Clinic, and particularly to the donor’s family! As the Erdey, Searcy Clinic motto states, I CAN see clearly NOW! Sincerely Grateful, More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  May 30, 2019

I look forward to my annual visits which I know sounds peculiar. But the staff and my doctor are absolutely fantastic. Dr. Searcy not only keeps me fully informed of my eye condition but he listens to me. I have found that to be very rare. I never have to wait for long periods of time once I arrive and the offices are immaculate. Erdey Searcy Eye Group is #1 in my book and I highly recommend them to everyone. You won't regret it More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Apr 12, 2019

Awesome, I had cataract surgery and he helped me out of my glasses for good! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 13, 2019

I have no complaints about the professional and polite attention I’ve received at Erdey Searcy for cataract surgery. Dr. Kaswinkel , the surgeon , as well as Drs. Janson and Huffman informed me in detail of this procedure in a patient manner. Elsa Coca Correa More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.N.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 13, 2019

Knowledge doctor. Has vast corneal expertise! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.L.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jan 15, 2019

In September 2018, I was referred to Dr. Richard Erdey at the Erdey Searcy Eye Group for Corneal transplants. Not going to lie, it was pretty scary news. I had my first DMEK transplant in October on my left eye. I was amazed how quickly I could see by the 3rd day. The procedure went so well that we moved to the right eye for the 2nd transplant in November. I am 6 weeks out from the 2nd transplant and can see 20/20! Words cannot express the gratitude I have for Dr. Erdey. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.G.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 13, 2018

I am disturbed with these reviews here. #1 is focused on the receptionist which is not an informed opinion on the doctor. If we reviewed all doctors on waiting time and come at them with attitude as I’m sure you did, well... then... You probably reap what you sow. As for #2, goodness, that's the most incoherent jumble of words I've ever encountered in a review. What in the world is your point?? Dr Erdey performed my cornea transplant and simply put he is one of the best. DO NOT confuse front office problems with Opthamalogical skills. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.L.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Nov 01, 2016

I want to thank Dr. Erdey for the precious gift of sight that he has given me. His healing hands are a miracle. Thank you Dr. Erdey for being good at what you do :) More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 12, 2016

They are fantastic they treated me like a KING and this morning the day after surgery I can see things that I haven?t seen in years!!!! I can see my hand it?s amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!! More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.